Home Tech What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone

What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone

by David
What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone

The Apple ID is at the heart of most Apple apps, services, and devices. It is the identity of a user in the Apple ecosystem and, similarly, the gateway to access most Apple services. It is safe to say that an iPhone is almost useless without an Apple ID. Knowing this, you sometimes wonder what happens when you sign out of the Apple ID of your iPhone? Will you still have access to Apple services like the App Store, Apple Music, FaceTime, etc.? What happens to your applications, files and data? This article explains what happens when you sign out of your Apple ID on iPhone.

What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone

Well, you may want to sign out of the Apple ID because you want to use a different Apple ID on your device. Disconnecting Apple ID is also recommended when selling or buying a used iPhone. Whatever the reason, the consequences of logging out of an Apple ID are the same on all Apple mobile devices (iPhone and iPad). However, only native Apple apps and services are affected. Third-party apps could also be affected – if they’re synced with your Apple ID or iCloud account.

Without further ado, let’s explore the services that could be affected on your iPhone when you sign out of Apple ID.

1. iCloud

iCloud is Apple’s cloud storage service that lets you sync and store iPhone photos, contacts, and other data online. Since the Apple iCloud service is linked to an Apple ID, all applications using iCloud on your iPhone will no longer be saved when you sign out of your Apple ID on iPhone. While the documents and files you previously backed up will remain in your iCloud or iCloud Drive storage, new application documents will not be downloaded or saved until you reconnect the existing Apple ID or a new one.

What happens when you sign out of the Apple iPhone 03 ID
What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone

2. Apple Music

Apple Music only works when an active Apple ID is connected to your account. Logging out of Apple ID on your iPhone will make Apple Music unusable. In addition to not being able to stream songs, all previously downloaded music will also be deleted from your device’s storage. Although your playlists and synced song library will remain in your iCloud, they will be deleted from the iPhone.

3. Applications and App Store

Logging out of the Apple ID on your devices also results in the unavailability of the Apple App Store. This means that you cannot download or install new apps from the App Store unless you log back in to your Apple ID or sign in for a new one. Of course, you can use apps already installed on your iPhone, but you won’t be able to update them.

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID iPhone 04
What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone
What happens when you sign out of the Apple iPhone 05 ID
What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone

4. iMessage and FaceTime

IMessage and FaceTime will still be functional when you sign out of the Apple ID on your iPhone. However, these services will only work if you have a phone number connected to your FaceTime and iMessage. If you used your Apple ID for your iMessage or FaceTime, you will not be able to send iMessage text messages or make FaceTime calls.

5. Locate my (iPhone)

The Find My app also works with the Apple ID of your iPhone. Logging out of your Apple ID means that you will not be able to remotely locate, lock or erase your iPhone in the event of disappearance or theft. It should also be noted that removing your Apple ID from your iPhone will also deactivate the activation lock. As soon as you dissociate the Apple ID from your iPhone, you will receive an email from Apple informing you that Find My has been deactivated on your iPhone.

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID iPhone 01
What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone

6. Files and documents

Logging out of your Apple ID may cause you to lose certain files and application data stored on your iPhone. This means that any files or documents that you have synced with your iCloud account will be deleted locally from your iPhone. For example, if your Notes app syncs with your iCloud account, logging out of Apple ID will delete all notes from your iPhone. This means that these notes will only be accessible through your iCloud account. When you reconnect your Apple ID to iPhone, the deleted data will be restored – provided you haven’t deleted it from iCloud.

Note: Only the data / files of the applications being synchronized with your iCloud will be deleted from your iPhone.

Interestingly, Apple offers users the choice of keeping data from apps using iCloud when they log out of the Apple ID.

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID iPhone 02
What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone
What happens when you sign out of Apple ID iPhone 06
What happens when you sign out of the Apple ID on iPhone

At the logout point, you will be asked if you want to keep a copy of some of your iCloud data on your device or not. If you choose to delete them, you can always restore them as they are available in your iCloud account.

7. iCloud email

If you have an iCloud email connected to the Mail app on your iPhone, it will also be deleted when you sign out of your Apple ID.

Be aware

Now that you know what happens when you sign out of your Apple ID, you are in a better position to decide whether or not you want to sign out of the Apple ID on your iPhone. If you really need to do it, it is recommended to back up the data from your iPhone to your PC using iTunes. In this way, you can easily restore your data if there is a problem with some of your files or device configurations after you sign out of Apple ID.

Then:

Disabling iCloud will delete photos from your iPhone or iPad? Here’s a guide where we explain how iCloud Photos works and what happens when you turn it off.

Last updated on May 4, 2020

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5&appId=1652915528311925″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’)); .

READ:   What is a default account in Chrome and how to change it

You may also like

Leave a Comment