What Happens When You Sign Out of Apple ID on Mac

What Happens When You Sign Out of Apple ID on Mac

Apple products require an Apple ID account to use and enjoy them. However, there are valid situations where you may need to sign out of your Apple ID. Like selling your device or fixing a system or application error. Although you have to go through different hurdles to sign out of Apple ID on iPhone and Mac, the aftereffects are somewhat similar. We will explain the events that happen when you sign out of Apple ID on Mac in this article.


What happens when you sign out of Mac Apple ID image

When you sign out of your Apple ID account on Mac, your device’s system and application configurations undergo various changes. Fortunately, you can control most of these changes. We will explain them in detail below.

1. What happens to your iCloud data

When you click on the Sign Out button, you will be asked whether or not you want to keep a copy of the iCloud data on your Mac. Typically, you can only keep iCloud data created by native Apple apps and services (e.g. contacts, reminders, mail, calendars, etc.).

What happens when you sign out of Apple ID Mac 01

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 01

If you choose to “keep a copy”, the selected data will remain on your Mac. However, the data that you did not choose to keep will be deleted but will still be accessible on your iCloud account. We recommend that you choose this option if you want to occasionally access this data on your Mac.

However, you should not keep a copy of your iCloud data on your Mac if you remove Apple ID to sell or give away your Mac.

It’s also worth noting that changes to data you’ve saved / kept (on other iCloud devices) will not update or sync with your Mac. Data syncing will resume when the (same) Apple ID account is reconnected.

2. Photos and videos

What Happens When You Sign Out of Apple ID Mac Image 03

What Happens When You Sign Out of Apple ID Mac Image 03

Like iCloud data and documents, you can also determine the fate of photos and videos when you sign out of Apple ID on your Mac. Previously uploaded photos and videos will remain on your Mac. When you sign out, you can also choose to upload photos and videos to the cloud on your Mac.

You should delete all uploaded photos and videos for security and privacy reasons if you sign out of Apple ID on your Mac because you sell or give it away.

Again, only the downloaded photos and videos will be accessible when you sign out of Apple ID. Even so, changes made to those photos or videos on other iCloud devices won’t update on your Mac unless you reconnect your Apple ID and turn on iCloud sync for photos in your Mac’s iCloud preferences.

3. FaceTime and iMessage

What happens when you sign out of Mac 02 Apple ID image

What happens when you sign out of Mac 02 Apple ID image

When you sign out of Apple ID from System Preferences, these services (iMessage and FaceTime) will remain functional. You will be able to make FaceTime calls, send and receive iMessages, and perform other related activities as they are independent of setting up Apple ID in the System Preferences menu.

To sign out of iMessage and FaceTime on your Mac, you’ll need to do so in their individual settings menu. Let’s see how.

Sign out of iMessage on Mac

Step 1: Launch the Messages app, tap Messages in the top right corner of the menu bar and select Preferences.

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 03

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 03

2nd step: Go to the iMessage tab.

What happens when you sign out of Apple ID Mac 05

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 05

Step 3: In the Apple ID section, click the Sign Out button.

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 05

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 05

Sign out of FaceTime on Mac

Step 1: Launch FaceTime, tap FaceTime in the menu bar, and select Preferences.

What happens when you sign out of Apple ID Mac 06

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 06

2nd step: Click the Sign Out button next to the Apple ID address.

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 07

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 07

4. Applications

Applications downloaded from the App Store will remain installed, active and usable. However, you will not be able to update these apps. Likewise, downloading new applications becomes impossible. This is because signing out of Apple ID on Mac also signs you out of the App Store.

To install or update apps, you’ll be prompted to sign in to the iTunes Store using your Apple ID credentials.

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 08

What happens when you sign out of Apple ID Mac 08

5. Music

Like the App Store, Apple Music is also linked to the Apple ID account in your Mac’s system preferences. Signing out of Apple ID on your Mac will simultaneously sign you out of Apple Music, rendering the Music app unusable.

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 09

What Happens When You Sign Out Apple ID Mac 09

6. Find my

The Find My service on your Mac will be disabled when you sign out of Apple ID. This means two things:

  1. You can no longer (remotely) locate your Mac from other devices or on iCloud.com.
  2. You won’t be able to use the Find My app to locate other Apple ID devices (iPhone, iPad, AirPods, etc.) from your Mac.

Signing out of Apple ID on your Mac also disables Activation Lock, a security feature designed to keep your MacBook locked and unusable if it is stolen, lost, or erased.

7. Transfer and continuity

What happens when you sign out of mac Apple ID 04 image

What happens when you sign out of mac Apple ID 04 image

You can use Apple products to seamlessly sync, share, and transfer data between them. Did you know that FaceTime calls from your iPhone can go to your Mac? Or how do you copy text from your iPad and paste it on your Mac (and vice versa)? These processes are powered by Apple’s Continuity feature, a technology that relies heavily on Apple ID activation on your devices.

When you sign out of Apple ID on your Mac, you will no longer benefit from the features powered by this continuity technology: instant access point, text message transfer, forwarding, etc.

In the loop

In addition to the above, data from other apps and services like Notes and iCloud Keychain is also temporarily deleted when you sign out of Apple ID on Mac. If you have unanswered questions regarding the topic, please leave a comment below. Let’s demystify them.

Then:

Will disabling iCloud delete photos from your iPhone or iPad? In the guide linked below, we explain how iCloud Photos works and what happens when you turn it off.

Last updated Nov 13, 2020

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5&appId=1652915528311925″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’)); .

READ:   Top 9 Ways To Fix Inability To Change Default Programs In Windows 10

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *