What are read receipts in WhatsApp and if you turn them off

WhatsApp has its pros and cons. On the one hand, it is one of the easiest apps to use for calling and messaging, and on the other hand, it lacks in some areas like privacy. On WhatsApp, anyone can message you
if they have your number. They will also be able to see if you
have read the message or not. Fortunately, you can limit this with
using read receipts. Find out what read receipts are and if
you have to disable them or not.


What are read receipts in WhatsApp and if you turn them off

Disabling read receipts impacts checkmarks and WhatsApp message
information. Behavior varies for individual cats, groups and
WhatsApp status. Let’s see what the checkmarks mean in WhatsApp and how
disabling read receipts will affect them.

Let’s start.

What do the checkmarks mean in WhatsApp

You will see three types of check marks (or check marks) on WhatsApp chats –
single, double and blue. In individual chats, the only gray check mark means the message was sent from your end. Two gray tiles
the marks indicate that the message was successfully delivered to the
recipient. And the two blue check marks mean that the recipient has read your
message.

What are read receipts in WhatsApp 1

What are read receipts in WhatsApp and if you turn them off
What are read receipts in WhatsApp 2

What are read receipts in WhatsApp and if you turn them off

In WhatsApp groups,
the meaning of the check marks changes slightly. One check mark
means the message was sent from your end, but one of the group members
participants have not yet received it (perhaps because of the connection
problems). Likewise, double check marks appear when the message
been given to all group members. Finally, the blue ticks
means that all members have read your message.

If you don’t see a blue check mark next to your sent messages,
may mean that the person did not see your message. They might be
are having network problems or their phone may be turned off. But if you are
sure none of them are true they may have turned off read receipts
or blocked you.

What are read receipts in WhatsApp

Receipts are the check marks that appear next to your sent messages. Read receipts are a feature of WhatsApp that allows you to hide or show blue check marks and message information (delivery and reading time).

When someone sends you a personal message on WhatsApp and you read it, only then will they see two blue check marks next to the message. They can also see the exact time the message was read by you by pressing the icon (i). But you can turn off read receipts.

What happens when you turn off read receipts in WhatsApp

Let’s see how read receipts impact individual chats, groups, status, and voicemail messages in WhatsApp.

How read receipts affect individual chats

When you turn off read receipts in WhatsApp settings, the sender will only see two gray check marks instead of blue for messages you’ve read. They will not be able to show the instance timestamp when you read the WhatsApp message and only the delivery time will be visible.

What are read receipts in WhatsApp 3

What are read receipts in WhatsApp and if you turn them off

Turning off read receipts helps us read WhatsApp messages without making it apparent to the other person. But that also has a downside. Even you lose the right to view read receipts of your own sent messages. So if you send messages with read receipt turned off, you will also see two gray check marks when a message has been read. Likewise, the reading time of the message will not be available to you. In a nutshell, read receipts must be enabled on both sides to display the read information of the message.

How read receipts can affect WhatsApp groups and status

Turning off read receipts also impacts WhatsApp status or a story. When you turn off read receipts and view someone’s status, they won’t know you’ve seen them. This is because disabling read receipts will hide your name from the Viewed by list. Cool, right? Now you can see the status of other people without them knowing. Wait. There is also a downside. When read receipts are turned off, you will not be able to see the names of people who have viewed your WhatsApp status.

When it comes to WhatsApp groups, read receipts don’t impact group conversations. So even if your read receipts or someone else’s are turned off, the usual checkmarks and message information will be visible. Blue check marks will appear for sent messages when all participants have read the message. Tap and hold any sent message, then tap the (i) icon to view reading information such as delivery and reading times.

If you turn off read receipts

The answer depends on your need. If you don’t want others to know and see when you’ve read their posts, turning off read receipts will come in handy. But as mentioned, you will also lose the right to view receipts for individual chats and status. So if you are ok with that then go ahead and turn them off and live a peaceful life.

Then:

Wondering if WhatsApp notifies the other person when you take a screenshot of their status just like Snapchat? Find out the answer in our next article.

Last updated on August 6, 2020

The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

(function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];if(d.getElementById(id))return;js=d.createElement(s);js.id=id;js.src=”http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5&appId=1652915528311925″;fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}(document,’script’,’facebook-jssdk’)); .

READ:   How to access American Netflix with VPN

Leave a Reply