Turn Off Significant Location Tracking on iPhone

Turn Off Significant Location Tracking on iPhone

Do you know that your iPhone saves the history of the places you visit regularly? It sounds creepy, but you can turn off the detection if you want and also delete the location history stored on your iPhone. To learn how to do this, continue reading.

Your iPhone uses the stored location history information and provides you with useful location related information in various applications like Maps, Calendar, Photos and more. So let’s see what places you’ve visited in the past and how we can turn off this significant location tracking.

Advertisement

See also: How to delete Siri history and data

How to view your location history on iPhone

For me, it was nice when I saw the history where I was in the past. If the significant location feature is enabled on your device, you can view your location history by going to your privacy section.

  1. Open the iPhone settings and scroll down a bit and tap on the privacy option.Turn Off Significant Location Tracking on iPhone
  2. Tap Location Services.Turn Off Significant Location Tracking on iPhone
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and tap System Services.Turn Off Significant Location Tracking on iPhone
  4. Find the Top Points option and tap on it to see all the saved locations.
    Turn Off Significant Location Tracking on iPhone
  5. Tap here in the list in a single place and see more details on the map.

How to eliminate important places

Should I use significant location tracking or not? According to Apple, the Significance Tracking feature is end-to-end encrypted, meaning that even Apple cannot see this information. So it’s safe to use, but if you think it’s small for you, you can easily eliminate it.

Open the iPhone settings and then go to Privacy> Location services> System services> Key locations.

Disable the Important Places switch here. Now your iPhone will no longer detect your location.
Turn Off Significant Location Tracking on iPhone

Delete important location history

On the same screen you can also clear all your saved location history.

Simply scroll down and tap the Clear History option. A quick message will make sure you want to delete it, just confirm to delete all the location history.

Turn Off Significant Location Tracking on iPhone

Do you like this location tracking feature on your iPhone? Please leave a comment below and tell us what you think of this feature.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *