PRIVACY in iOS 14 gets big improvements

Manual to act in case your personal safety is at risk

Manzana just posted a Handbook to act in case you personal safety is at risk. A document Pdf in which it details actions to be taken in case our personal safety is in danger.

Manual for your personal safety

Privacy is something to which Manzana He has always attached great importance to it. Since the arrival of iOS 14 has enhanced the tools on our devices to be able to manage that privacy and to inform us about all apps and websites that can access it.

It also cares about people who may have their personal safety at risk and has published a manual where it explains, step by step, how to act if we find ourselves in that dangerous situation.

The manual is, at the moment, in English, but we are going to translate the most important of each point.

Apple Manual on Device and Data Access When Personal Safety is at Risk:

Here is the direct link to Apple manual in PDF. Now we are going to name you and translate the most important points:

Update your device software to the latest version available:

Updating your software is one of the most important things you can do to protect your device and your information.

Restore your device to factory settings:

If you are not running the latest version of iOS and you are concerned that someone else has had physical access to your device, you should backup the information on your device and restore it to factory settings. This process may take some time, but will ensure that only you can access your device, while preserving all of your information.

Protect your device:

To prevent anyone except you from using your devices and accessing your information, make sure to use passwords or unique passwords that only you know and use Touch ID or Face ID on your iPhone or iPad.

Protect your Apple ID:

Your Apple ID is the personal account that you use to log into your device and access Apple services. This includes services like the App Store, iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, and Find My, and personal information that you store with Apple and share between devices, such as contacts, payment information, photos, device backups, and much more. Here are some basic notions:

  1. Don’t share your Apple ID password with anyone, not even members of your family.
  2. Use two-factor authentication for your Apple ID.
  3. Pay attention to notifications about your Apple ID.

If you think your Apple ID has been compromised, follow these steps to review your account information and protect it:

  1. Change your Apple ID password and choose a strong password: eight or more characters, including uppercase and lowercase letters, and at least one number.
  2. Review all personal and security information on your account. Update any information that is not correct or that you do not recognize.
  3. If you have two-factor authentication enabled, check your trusted devices on iOS. If you see a device that you don’t recognize, you can select it and remove it.
  4. Set up two-factor authentication.

If you don’t recognize a login location:

When you sign in on a new device, you receive a notification on your other trusted devices. The notification includes a map of the new device’s location. This is an approximate location based on the IP address or network the device is currently using, rather than the exact location of the device.

READ:   How to see WhatsApp status without being seen [2020]

If you see a notification that your Apple ID is being used to sign in on a new device and you’re not signing in, tap Disallow to block the sign-in attempt.

Check the privacy settings:

The privacy settings on your device have been carefully designed so that you are in control of your data. For example, you can allow a social media application to use your camera so that you can take and upload photos to that application. You can also grant access to Contacts so that a messaging application can find friends who are already using the same application.

In Settings / Privacy, you can view the applications that you have allowed access to certain information, such as Location Services, Contacts, Camera, Files and folders, and more, as well as grant or revoke any future access to this information.

Use the Search app:

The application Look for for iPhone, iPad and Mac helps you stay connected to your device even if it is lost or stolen and allows you to share your location with friends and family.

You can use Look for to locate friends and family and to share your location. Your location is not shared by default. If you are sharing it and do not want to share it with someone, you must access the application and stop sharing your location with the contact you want.

Sharing your location:

With your permission, Location Services allow apps and websites (including Maps, Camera, Weather, and other apps) to use location information, such as from cellular networks, Wi-Fi, Global Positioning System (GPS), and Bluetooth to determine its approximate location. The first time an app tries to access your location, it must ask for your permission. You’ll see a message explaining which app is requesting permission to use your location, as well as the app developer’s reason for requesting it. You can revoke that request or accept it.

READ:   XSS Payloads for Javascript for Pentester

To stop sharing your location with applications and services, even for a short period of time, go to Settings / Privacy / Location and deactivate the “Location” option.

Share with iCloud:

iCloud safely stores your photos, videos, documents, music, applications, and more. It keeps updated on all your devices. iCloud also allows you to share photos, calendars, your location, and more with friends and family.

You can view and change the settings of iCloud On each device, including Apple apps and third-party apps that use iCloud, backup copies of iCloud and more. We can also log out of iCloud completely on our device. If we do so it no longer makes a backup copy of the information on that device.

Shared Photo Albums:

With Shared Photo Albums, you choose the photos and videos you want to share and the people you want to share them with. You can change your sharing settings at any time.

Shared calendars:

If you’ve previously invited someone to share your calendar, you can manage their calendar settings or stop sharing the calendar with that person.

Share your activity with Apple Watch:

If you have a Apple watch and you previously shared your activity rings with someone, this person can see information about your activity level and workouts. It does not give them any information about your location.

Remove unknown third-party apps:

If you notice that an app has permission to access your data and you don’t remember installing or giving it permission to access your data, you may want to remove the app.

READ:   How to hide the WhatsApp profile photo from the contact you want

Delete unknown configuration profiles:

Businesses or educational institutions can use device profiles, mobile device management (MDM) tools, and custom applications to manage devices, and these tools can allow access to location information or data on the device.

If you see a profile installed on your device and you do not know the reason, you can remove it and remove the associated applications. If your device belongs to your school or organization, check with your system administrator before removing a required app or profile.

When using Family Sharing:

Share purchases, photos, a calendar and more with someone else, using Family Sharing. This makes it easy to share: App Store purchases, music, movies, TV and books, Apple Music, Apple Arcade or Apple TV + subscriptions, iCloud storage and much more, without sharing other people’s Apple accounts.

Phishing and fraudulent requests to share information:

Phishing refers to fraudulent attempts to obtain your personal information.

Be careful if you receive unsolicited messages asking you to accept gifts, download documents, install software, or follow suspicious links. People who want to access your personal information use every means they can (spoofed emails and text messages, deceptive pop-up ads, fake downloads, calendar spam, and even fake phone calls) to mislead you, such as your Apple ID or password. , or for you to provide a verification code for two-factor authentication.

VERY CAREFUL WITH THIS !!!. Here info about attempts to Apple Phishing.

Without further ado and hoping to have helped you and that you liked this tutorial, we will send you shortly to more news, tricks, apps … for your Apple devices.

Regards.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *