Home Tech How to delete or reset a forgotten screen time password on iPhone and Mac

How to delete or reset a forgotten screen time password on iPhone and Mac

by David

Screen Time is a phenomenal addition to the iPhone, iPad and Mac. It allows you to easily monitor habits, impose time limits, set restrictions for various applications and services, etc. But to secure any modification of Screen Time, you must create a Screen Time access code. It is especially important to do this when handing over your device to other people.


However, you don’t use your Screen Time password a lot (compared to your device’s passcode), which makes you completely forget about it. And when Screen Time was first introduced in iOS 12, it was almost impossible to change or delete a Screen Time password if you didn’t remember it using normal means.

The only “official” ways to get rid of a forgotten Screen Time password was to restore your iPhone or iPad with an iTunes backup without a password or to configure it as a new device. Absurd, I know. There was a workaround that involved using encrypted iTunes backups to recover your Screen Time passcode in iOS 12. But again, it didn’t work when iOS 13 and iPadOS 13 started up.

Fortunately, Apple has regained consciousness. You can now easily change or delete your forgotten Screen Time password. The same applies to the Mac. Let’s see how.

Delete or reset forgotten screen time passcode – Mac

Starting with macOS 10.15 Catalina, you can also use Screen Time on the Mac to do many things, such as monitoring application usage, disabling program features, blocking websites, and more. But just like with the iPhone and iPad, forget your Screen Time password, and it becomes almost impossible to make changes to the Screen Time settings.

READ:   13 things to know about screen sharing in Microsoft teams

If your Mac is running macOS 10.15.4 Catalina or higher, you can easily change or delete a forgotten Screen Time password using your Apple credentials.

You can find the current version of macOS by opening the Apple menu, and then clicking About This Mac. If your Mac needs to be updated, enter software update in Spotlight, select Software Update, and then install the pending updates.

Step 1: Open the Apple menu, then click System Preferences.


2nd step: Click on the thumbnail titled Screen Time.


Step 3: Switch to the Options side tab.


Step 4: Depending on what you want to do, uncheck the box next to Use screen time access code (to delete the access code) or click the button labeled Change access code.


Step 5: Click on “Forgot your password?” when prompted to enter the access code for the current screen time.


Remember: You will not see this option if you have not installed macOS 10.15.4 Catalina or higher on your Mac.

Step 6: Enter your Apple ID and password, then click Next.


You can then change or delete your Screen Time password. If the box next to Share on all devices (located under Options) is enabled, your screen time access code will sync to all other devices under the same Apple ID.

Then:

Did you know that you can block private browsing in Safari on iPhone using Screen Time? Click on the link below to find out how.

Last updated on June 16, 2020


The above article may contain affiliate links that help support Guiding Tech. However, this does not affect our editorial integrity. The content remains impartial and authentic.

.

You may also like

Leave a Comment