How to Automatically Empty Trash on Mac After 30 Days

If we move the unwanted files to the Trash on your Mac, it’s still on your computer and takes up space on your disk. The advantage of this is that you can accidentally restore the files that were accidentally deleted to their original location. On the other hand, unwanted files take up a lot of space on your computer, which can lead to a slow computer.

You can empty the trash manually, just right-click on the trash can icon and remove the Empty Trash option from the menu. If you want to automatically empty your Recycle Bin after 30 days, in both cases it will be good for accidentally deleted files, which you can easily recover, and also save when Mac deletes the files completely from your computer.

The option to empty the Recycle Bin on Mac is not enabled by default. Let’s see how we can enable this option in macOS Sierra and later versions; earlier versions of macOS do not have the ability to automatically remove items from the Trash.

Advertisement

Automatically remove items from the trash after 30 days in macOS

Here’s how to set up your Mac to automatically empty the Trash:

  1. Click anywhere on the empty area on the desktop or open Finder on your Mac, then click Finder > Preferences from the menu.
  2. Click the Advanced tab in the Preferences window.
  3. Here, under the Advanced tab, you will see the option “Remove items from the trash after 30 days”, just click on the checkbox to enable this option.

Now you do not have to worry about unnecessary files in the trash taking up space; Mac OS takes care of it and removes it after every 30 days. In any case, you can still empty the trash manually.

Even if the auto-empty trash option is enabled, you can recover the files from the trash at any time using the restore option on Mac OS. Using the restore function, the files are placed in their original location from where they were sent to the Trash.

Prevent Mac from automatically emptying the Trash

If you have changed your mind and want to stop emptying the trash automatically, disable this option:

  1. Click anywhere on the desktop, and then click Finder> Preferences.
  2. Click on the Preferences screen on the Advanced tab and then check the option “Remove items from the trash after 30 days”

So, now you know how to enable or disable the auto-cleanup junk option on macOS. Leave a comment below if you like it or even have questions.

Updates
0

More Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Menu