4 main privacy and security settings of TikTok for users

4 main privacy and security settings of TikTok for users

The TikTok craze refuses to slow down, and the COVID-19 pandemic only adds fuel to the fire. Although there is nothing wrong with publishing or download videos on TikTok, you don’t want the occasional flak that goes with it. You also don’t need stalkers. This is why you should understand and use the security and privacy settings of TikTok.


TikTok raised several red flags in the past few months, and now the scammers are target the platform with adult dating and so on. Fortunately, there are several ways to prevent damage.

Let’s start.

1. Hacks and security alerts

Open the app and under the Me tab, tap the three-dot menu to access the settings. Tap Manage my account.



Here you will see basic information about the profile, such as the email id, mobile number, password and, most importantly, security. Select that.



You will see alerts from TikTok if they feel that something is wrong or is out of place. For example, if someone is trying to access your account without your permission or any devices currently connected to your TikTok account. WhatsApp also offers a similar function.



You can contact support or sign out of any devices you don’t recognize here. I would also recommend changing your password at this point to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

2. TikTok security and privacy settings

Return to the previous screen and this time select Privacy and security. There are many options, so let’s address them individually.



The first option is the private account. Activating this will force everyone to send you a follow-up request, much like on Instagram, before they can see the videos downloaded or liked by you. TikTok specifies that users who already follow you will not notice any difference.

READ:   6 Best Instant Camera With Self-Timer For Those Perfect Selfies

The second option is to suggest your account to others. This is useful if you want to gain followers on TikTok. Who doesn’t? Enabling this option will allow TikTok to use its recommendation engine to show videos from your account to those who express an interest in similar content.

The Security section is where you will find the parameters intended to protect your data. They’re usually easy to understand, like anyone can download your videos, who can send you direct messages or DMs, who can see the videos you like or comments posted by others on your videos, and even comment on your videos.



The Comment Filters option allows you to block comments of an offensive nature, but you can also create a list of keywords. These may be abusive or sensitive keywords that you don’t want to see in your comments section. All comments with these keywords will be automatically blocked. People can act selfish and downright nasty or abusive on social media and we can all do it with a certain positivity.


You can also control if someone can duet with you. This is what a duo looks like, in case you are new to the platform or don’t know the meaning.

The last option is Blocked Accounts, where you will see a list of all the users you have blocked. But how do you block someone?

3. How to block TikTok users

When you come across a video of a user you want to block, tap the username to open their account. Do not press the “+” icon if you see one. It will only follow him. Now tap the three-dot menu icon in the upper right corner.

READ:   Which external bluetooth speaker should you buy


A context menu should appear at the bottom of the screen. You can not only block the user, but also report their account if you think they are sharing questionable content.


You will no longer see any videos from this account. And just like Instagram or Twitter, they won’t be able to see your content or your account activities either.

Then:

Have you seen a video with a catchy song on TikTok? Here’s how to find any song used in a TikTok video.

Last updated on April 11, 2020

.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *